A+ QBooks Consulting & Services, LLC - official website

ERROR: User Name Already In Use when logging into QuickBooks

Error - User Name Already In Use

When logging into a QuickBooks financial program are you getting an error message saying that the user name is already in use?  Here are some steps to resolve that error.

Quiestions?  Give our experts a call at (800) 609-0788.

This message can be caused by one of the following:

  • The accountant or user logging into the company file is using Remote Access, and did not log out from a previous session.
  • The user name is already logged into the company file from a different workstation.

To resolve this issue:

  1. End all open QuickBooks processes.
    1. Open Task manager by clicking Ctrl + Alt + Delete.
    2. Click the Processes tab.
    3. Click Image Name to alphabetize all open processes.
    4. Right click and End process on all processes that begin with "qb".
  2. Attempt to to Log In to the company data file.
  3. If still unsuccessful, Restart the server(s) storing and hosting the company data file.
  4. Open QuickBooks on a workstation.
  5. Attempt to Log In to the company data file.
  6. If unsuccessful, attempt to Log In as a different user.
  7. Contact your QuickBooks Administrator about resetting your QuickBooks password. If you are the QuickBooks Administrator:
  8. If still unsuccessful, Restore a backup made before the issue began and reenter data.
  9. If you do not have a recent back up, contact your prefered technical support person/company. 

Show Cart

QBdeal Shopping Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Accept Credit Cards


Call Us Now 1.800.609.0788

Intuit | BBB